District Convention 

lionlogo_2c copy.jpg
46th Annual Convention
 NOVEMBER 12 - 14, 2021   Blue Harbor Resort, Sheboygan

The Lions and Lioness of 27-B1 hosted the 46th Annual Convention of District 27-B1 at the Blue Harbor Resort in Sheboygan.  International Director Ken Ibarra from San Bruno, California addressed the audience.  212 attended the convention, which is about average for the past 7 years.


Highlights were a Friday night fish fry, raffles, a Speak Easy theme set from the 1920’s dancing, drinks and a casino night hosted by the Kiel and Winnebago-East Shore Lions Club. Music and dancing was provided by Frank and the Rat Pack Jazz from Chicago. Lead singer, Frank Lamphere is said to be “One of the Premier vocalists in the entire country” stated by the Chicago Jazz Magazine


Saturday, opening ceremony began at 8:30 with full honor guard flag presentation preceded with a 10 minute drumline show by the Sheboygan North High School Drumline team.  Watch their performance by clicking here.  A remembrance ceremony and nominations for offices took place before lunch.  The day continued with seminars, raffles, lunch and finalized with a banquet with guest speakers, entertainment and awards.

Presidential Certificates of Appreciation were awarded to Wendy Hartmann, Vincent Treague and Laurie Sasada.  A Ray Hempel Fellowship was awarded from the District to PDG Tom Wendt.  A Melvin Jones Fellowship was awarded to DG BJ Blahnik from his club, the Town of Sheboygan.

The "Lions Bank" was purchased for the next year by the Cleveland Lions with donations to Lions projects totalling around $4,500.

Outstanding seminars were given on devices for the visually impaired, the Sheboygan Children's' Museum, recruiting new members and a presentation by the Eye Bank on the cycle of eye transplanting. Voting took place at the end of the afternoon’s seminars. 


Every club was asked to bring a gift or two to be included in our successful “Bucket Raffle.”


The District Raffle results are: 

     1st - Tom Berendes

     2nd - Keil Lions

     3rd - Dick Karl

     4th - Howards Grove Lions

     5th - Ripon Lions

     6th - DG Bill Anderson

Voting results are as follows. 


District Governor, Dave Brinkman, Brandon Lions

First Vice District Governor, Greg Kubichka, Chilton Lions

Second Vice District Governor, Dave Holschbach, Mishicot Lions

WLF Director, Dick Karl, Sheboygan Noon Lions

Eye Bank Director, Charles Keifenheim, St. Peter Lions

Both resolutions passed, removing Lioness from the constitution and allowing International updates to be automatically put in place in our district constitution.


The convention site for 2023 will be at Par 5 in Mishicot.  The Bean Bag Tournament will be hosted by the Sheboygan Lions in 2022.  Peace Poster was won by Adriana LeCaptain from Rosendale Intermediate and pin design 5 won by a coin toss, "Tell Your Story", will be the 2022-23 district pin.


Convention History    Convention Pins 

 Convention Photos



Coming soon

2019   2018   2017   2016   2015   2014   2013   2012   2010   2009   2008   2007   2006   2005   2004

Last update: Nov. 15, 2021 | Lions logo is a registered trademark of Lions International.